Scriddleblog

Where the Scriddley starts to pow

National Homebrew Day – May 1st!

Posted by phourigan on April 30, 2010

I picked up an American IPA kit from Keystone and will commence brewing tomorrow afternoon.  Unfortunately, I’m going to commit an eco-sin: my beer often ends up with a plasticky taste.  It’s not a band-aid taste that might come from contamination, but some resources say that tap water that’s high in chlorine (like mine) can result in a plasticky note.

So I’m going to buy bottled water for the first time in a long time.  I’ve never bought a gallon jug of bottled water and now I’m going to have to buy five and probably six gallons.  I’m hoping I can find a five gallon jug or even a three gallon jug somewhere to minimize the environmental impact.

I’m horrified by the thought that I’m contributing to this.

Happy brewing!

Leave a Reply

 
